Drunk driving is a crime in all 50 states. However, some states do a better job than others at combating drunk driving and preventing serious and deadly DUI accidents from occurring. From aggressive DUI checkpoints to harsher penalties for repeat offenders, some states are leading the way when it comes to cracking down on drunk driving – and Georgia is one of them. According to a new report by WalletHub, Georgia is, in fact, one of the strictest states on DUI offenders.

DUI Defense

To determine which states were the strictest on DUI, the 2017 report examined statistics from all 50 states and Washington D.C., including jail time for first and second DUI convictions and mandatory alcohol assessments. These metrics were then divided into two categories: criminal penalties and prevention. Where did Georgia rank for criminal penalties and prevention?

Georgia 2nd Strictest DUI State

Surprisingly, Georgia came in 2nd in the country for the strictest DUI state. Only Arizona ranked better. Most notably , the Peach State has some of the harshest penalties for DUI offenders in the country. Here, even first time offenders must spend time behind bars. First time DUI offenders must spend 10 days in county jail, while second time DUI offenders must spend 90 days behind bars. DUI offenders also get their driver’s’ licenses suspended for the longest amount of time, when compared to the other states. Here DUI offenders lose their license for 360 days.

Georgia also has mandatory prevention programs in place to prevent deadly DUI accidents from occuring. Unlike many other states, Georgia has a child endangerment program, numerous sobriety checkpoints, and a no-refusal initiative for rapid search warrants when it comes to sobriety testing.

Top Ten Strictest DUI States

What were the top ten strictest states in the country for DUI offenders?

  1. Arizona
  2. Georgia
  3. Alaska
  4. Kansas
  5. Oklahoma
  6. Nebraska
  7. Connecticut
  8. Utah
  9. Delaware
  10. West Virginia

DUI Arrests are Taken Seriously in Georgia  

As you can see, DUI arrests are taken very seriously in the state of Georgia. If you are arrested, you will likely spend time behind bars, be forced to pay hefty fines, and you will lose your driver’s license for a full calendar year. This can make it difficult to get to work, school and other important appointments. When this occurs, you need an aggressive DUI defense lawyer on your side to help you fight these serious charges.

Have You Been Arrested and Charged with a DUI in Atlanta?       

Have you been arrested and charged with a DUI in Atlanta or anywhere in the state of Georgia? If you are facing DUI charges, it is important to know that these charges could adversely affect your entire life. At Schnipper Law, P.C., our Atlanta DUI defense attorneys know that one drunk driving mistake can wreck your future. As such, you need an experienced and skilled DUI defense lawyer on your side from the start. Call Schnipper Law P.C.,  at (404) 545-5845 for a free initial consultation and review of your case. We can protect your future and your freedom.

Additional Reading

Understanding Underage DUI in Georgia

True Costs of DUI in the State of Georgia