3 Important Things to Know about Auto Accident Laws in Georgia

By |2018-08-14T16:14:14+00:00August 13th, 2018|Auto Accident|Comments Off on 3 Important Things to Know about Auto Accident Laws in Georgia
Schnipper Law, P.C.

Auto Accident Laws in GeorgiaIt’s no secret that auto accident laws differ from state to state, and that these variances can dramatically impact how a personal injury case is handled in the aftermath of an accident. If you’ve been injured in an auto accident in Georgia, here are 3 important things you need to know.

“No-Fault”States – And What It Actually Means

Many states are what’s called “no-fault,”which means that auto accident injury victims must collect money from their own insurance companies, regardless of who was actually at fault for the accident itself.  In the state of Georgia, however, victims can sue the driver who caused the accident for medical bills and lost wages, as well as pain and suffering.

Understanding Contributory Negligence

Laws in Georgia also recognize the idea of contributory negligence, which essentially assigns a specific percentage of fault to each driver who was involved in the collision. It’s important to note here that if you’re found to be more than 50% responsible for the accident, you will be unable to sue the other driver.

So Exactly How Is Fault Measured?

Suppose that a driver runs a red light. That driver would typically considered to be at-fault, since he broke a clear traffic rule and did not follow vital right-of-way process. If the other driver, who had the right-of-way,was speeding, he would assume a smaller percentage of fault since he was technically breaking the law by speeding. Provided the second driver was less than 50% responsible for the accident, he could then sue for injuries. The first driver could not, however.

State Liability Requirements

Different states have different liability requirements to make sure that drivers have adequate coverage. According to the auto accident laws in Georgia, all drivers must carry:

  • At least $25,000 of bodily injury coverage, per person
  • At least $25,000 of property damage insurance
  • A minimum of $50,000 for bodily injury, per collision

Have You Been Injured in an Auto Accident in Georgia?

If you or a loved one has been injured in an auto accident in Georgia, it’s important to retain legal representation as soon after the accident as possible.  An auto accident lawyer well versed in personal injury law can make all the difference between a settlement that properly compensates you for your injuries, and a low-ball offer from the insurance company that only makes a dent in the mountain of medical bills. [calltoaction]Contact us today for a free consultation by calling (404) 983-6051.[/calltoaction]