Tis’ the season to get a DUI. After all, holiday parties and gatherings usually mean festive cocktails and eggnog. That means a greater chance of driving under the influence and getting arrested. In fact, DUI arrests and drunk driving accidents increase during the holiday season so drastically that the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration kicks off a Drive Sober or Get Pulled Over holiday campaign every year to raise public awareness about the dangers of drunk driving.
According to the NHTSA, “over the past 5 years, an average of 300 people die in drunk driving crashes during the Christmas through New Year’s holiday period.” In 2016, more than 781 people were killed in December alone. Even more staggering, is that for every drunk driver pulled over and arrested this holiday season, hundreds more are driving on the road undetected.
What is Driving under the Influence in Georgia?
If you’ve been arrested for DUI in Atlanta, Georgia, it is important to know the severity of these charges and how they could adversely affect your entire life. In Georgia, you can be arrested and charged with a DUI for driving with a blood alcohol content of 0.08 or greater. In general, an arresting officer needs a reason to pull you over for drunk driving. This could be something as simple as not coming to a complete stop at a stop sign or it could be a more egregious offense, such as driving the wrong way down a one way street.
If you find yourself pulled over and an officer suspects you of DUI, they will ask you to step out of the vehicle to perform a BAC test. Remember, you have the right to remain silent and you have the right to refuse a BAC test, however, the consequences for refusing a BAC test are severe. In Georgia, refusing a BAC test will result in your license being suspended for one year with no limited driving permit available.
DUI Consequences in Georgia are Harsh
If you’re BAC is over 0.08, you will likely be arrested and charged with DUI. Most people mistakenly think that a DUI is not a big offense and that the penalties and consequences aren’t severe. They’re wrong. First time DUI offenders in Georgia will face the following penalties:
- Suspended license for 1 full year
- Up to $1000 fines
- $210 fee for license reinstatement
- DUI alcohol or drug risk reduction program participation
- Mandatory 40 hours community service
- Possible imprisonment of up to 1 year
An Attorney Can Help Fight These Serious Charges
Fighting these charges is important to protecting your driving record. While you may believe you have no choice but to accept the consequences, this is far from the truth. Your attorney can review your case and help determine if your rights were violated during the arrest, if the BAC test was administered properly, and if the results were accurate. If this is your first offense, your attorney may be able to have the charges against you dismissed in lieu of community service or completing a drug and alcohol program.
Have You Been Arrested for DUI?
If you’ve been arrested and charged with DUI in Atlanta, it is important to understand the seriousness of these charges and how they could affect your future. At Schnipper Law, P.C., our Atlanta DUI defense attorneys know that one DUI could have significant impact on your ability to maintain employment, provide for your family, and even secure car insurance in the future. Call Schnipper Law P.C., at (404) 983-6051 for a free initial consultation and review of your case. We can help you fight these serious charges and protect your driving record and your freedom.